2015 Award Winners


Distinguished Fellow
Mohammad R. Torabi, PhD, MPH; Indiana University

Honorary Fellow
Larry Cohen, MSW; Prevention Institute

Karen Denard Goldman Mentor Award
David K. Lohrmann, PhD, MCHES; Indiana University

Elizabeth Fries Health Education Award
David A. Sleet, PhD, FASHA, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Presented by the James F. and Sara T. Fries Foundation

Horizon Award
Adam P. Knowlden, CHES, MBA, PhD; The University of Alabama

Technology Award
Let's Get Healthy!; Oregon Health & Science University

Program Excellence Award
Salud Familiar; San José State University & McKinley Elementary School

Presidential Citations
Sue Baldwin, PhD, MCHES; Buffalo Public Schools
Lydia Burak, PhD, CHES; Bridgewater State University
Ellen M. Capwell, PhD, MCHES; Otterbein University
Carol Cox, PhD, MCHES; Truman State University
Dixie Dennis, PhD, MCHES; Austin Peay State University
Eva Doyle, PhD, MCHE; Baylor University
Stephen Gambescia, PhD, MEd, MBA, MHum, MCHES; Drexel University
Carl Hanson, PhD, MCHES; Brigham Young University
Dianne Kerr, PhD, MCHES; Kent State University
Mark Kittleson, PhD, FAAHB, FAAHE; New Mexico State University
Linda Lysoby, MS, MCHES, CAE; National Commission for Health Education Credentialing Inc.
James F. McKenzie, PhD, MPH, MCHES; Ball State University
Tyler Watson, PhD, MCHES; Brigham Young University-Idaho 

SOPHE Trophy
Jeffrey Goodman, MPH; George Washington University
Darcell P. Scharff, PhD; Saint Louis University

Lawrence W. Green Paper of the Year Award
Developing Behavioral Theory With the Systematic Integration of Community Social Capital Concepts
Laura J. Samuel, PhD, Yvonne Commodore-Mensah, RN, and Cheryl R. Dennison Himmelfarb, PhD, APN
Health Education & Behavior, August 2014, Vol. 41(4) 359–375.    

Sarah Mazelis Paper of the Year Award
A Method for Building Evaluation Competency Among Community-Based Organizations
Cheryl M. Kelly, PhD, MPH, Jessi LaRose, MPH, Darcell P. Scharff, PhD, MPH
Health Promotion Practice, May 2014; Vol. 15 (3) 431-437

SOPHE/CDC Injury Prevention Fellowship
Elizabeth Nesoff, MPH, CHES; Johns Hopkins University
Douglas Roehler, MPH; University of Michigan

Graduate Student Research Paper
Jessica L. King, MS, CHES; University of Florida 

Vivian Drenckhahn Student Scholarship
Shameka Y. Neely, MA; University of Cincinnati
Paul A. Santos, BS, CHES; Montclair State University 

Marian Pollock Fellowship
Jessica Hoag; American College of Education
Presented by the Foundation for the Advancement for Health Education 

Delbert Oberteuffer Scholarship
Alexandra DeSorbo, MPH; Columbia University - Teachers College
Presented by the Foundation for the Advancement for Health Education 

SOPHE's 21st Century Scholarships
Sara R. Adams; Coastal Carolina University
Valisha Andrus, BA; Montclair State University
Sarah Ball, MA; University of Mississippi
Jaclyn Carpenter, BS, CHES; University of Cincinnati
Amy Charlot; Western Washington University
Alexandra DeSorbo MPH; Columbia University - Teachers College
Natalie E. Grinvalds, CHES; Indiana University
Lila Murphy Gutuskey, MEd; Wayne State University
Erika Henry; University of Cincinnati
Rachel Mahas, MS, MPH; University of Toledo
Grace Moxley, BS; College of Charleston
Jasmine Paul, PhD.; Fort Valley State University
Joni Roberts, CHES, MAT; Loma Linda University
Tara Rose Stratinsky; Eastern Illinois University
Emily J. Van Wasshenova, MS; University of Toledo


21st Century Scholarships in Honor of Marian Hamburg
Erika Bro; Western Washington University
Taylor Lacey, BS; University of Cincinnati
Jessica L. King, MS, CHES; University of Florida
Jessica Sloan Kruger, RYT, BS, MSHE; University of Toledo
Sarah Elizabeth Pember, BA, MT; The University of Alabama
Melissa Weinstein; Indiana University