National Board of Trustees

SOPHE’s Board of Trustees comprises 20 elected members who are charged with: 
  • Determining the organization’s mission and vision.
  • Selecting and evaluating the chief executive officer.
  • Ensuring and managing adequate resources.
  • Effective organizational planning.
  • Determining and monitoring SOPHE’s programs and services.
  • Ensuring legal and ethical accountability.
  • Recruiting and orienting new board members
  • Enhancing SOPHE’s public standing.
All trustees are two-year positions, except the president-elect and student trustee.  

Deborah A. Fortune, PhD, MCHES®
Term 2021 - 2022
North Carolina Central University
Cam Escoffery, PhD, MPH, CHES®
Immediate Past President
Term 2021 - 2022
Emory University- Rollins School of Public Health
Dr. Amy Thompson, PhD, CHES®
Term 2021 - 2022
University of Toledo
Dr. William Potts-Datema
Term 2021 - 2023
Rachael Dombrowski, PhD, MPH
Term 2020 - 2022
Wayne State University
Dr. Sabrina T. Cherry
Trustee, Advocacy & Resolutions
Term 2021 - 2023
University of North Carolina Wilmington
Dr. Antonio Gardner
Trustee, Membership & Leadership Development
Term 2020 - 2022
Mississippi State University
Dr. Ashley Victoria Parks, DrPH, MPH, MTech, MCHES®, CPH
Trustee, Professional Preparation
Term 2020 - 2022
California Baptist University
Ninfa Peña Purcell, PhD, MS, MCHES®
Trustee, Professional Development & Continuing Education
Term 2021 - 2023
Texas A&M University
Dr. Lisa D Lieberman
Trustee, Publications
Term 2021 - 2023
Montclair State University
Ms. Cherylee Sherry, MPH, MCHES®
Trustee, Strategic Initiatives
Term 2021 - 2023
Minnesota Department of Health
Dr. Beth H Chaney
Trustee, Communications
Term 2020 - 2022
The University of Alabama
Janae Alexander, MPH, CHES
Student Trustee
Term 2021 - 2022
Texas A&M University
Dr Kirsten Colbaugh Rodgers
Trustee, 2022 Annual Conference
Term 2021 - 2023
Proximate Learnining, LLC
Darcell Scharff, PhD
Trustee, 2021 Annual Conference
Term 2020 - 2022
Saint Louis University
Dr Jody L. Vogelzang, PhD, MS, MA, RDN, CHES®, FAND
Trustee, Research & Ethics
Term 2020 - 2022
JLV & Associates
Charity Bishop, MA, CHES®
Delegate Trustee & Speaker of the House
Term 2021 - 2022
Indiana University-Indianapolis
Tina Jacob
Delegate Trustee
Term 2021 - 2023
Ohio Children's Alliance
Josephine Lara
Delegate Trustee
Term 2021 - 2023
California State University, Dominguez Hills
Dr. Tara Lutz, PhD, MPH, MCHES®
Delegate Trustee
Term 2021 - 2023
University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, UConn Health (UConn UCEDD)